150-year First Church History

02.28.19 | 150, Anniversary

    Learn about First Church 150-year History in San Diego!

    The 150th Anniversary History book by Krista Ames-Cook.
    Drawing on photographs and research from First Church and local community archives, Krista's book chronicles how Methodists have worshiped in several locations throughout San Diego, California, since February 1869.

    As the city grew, so did the church. The first locations were near the waterfront and in the neighborhood that is known today as the Gaslamp Quarter. From 1870 to 1906, the church was in the heart of what is now downtown near Horton Plaza.

    After a move few blocks northeast, the congregation worshiped from 1907 to 1964 in a Gothic Revival-style sanctuary designed by Irving J. Gill. Even with additions, First Church outgrew this space, and so it moved again in 1964 to a Spanish-contemporary-style church in Mission Valley. Over the years, the church’s reach has expanded to multiple sites and many congregations.

    This book is a must-have with lots of photographs and stories of joy and hope. Available for purchase in the church office (619-297-4366). Cost $25.



    Gold Level
    Philip and Elaine Amerson; Dorothy Appleby; Kathee Christensen; Greg and Lyn Cobb; Kevin and Brandy Crislip; Robert and Demetra Divine; Arleigh and Linda Dotson; Jeri and Richard Eimers (after publication); John Hermann; Raymond Homan; Jim and Joanne Jackson; Karon Jarrard; Rev. Kevin Jones; Ed and Erica Knowles; Dan and Maria Lai; David Latham; Homer and Linda Moyer; Abby Sailors; Jessica, Tim, and Abigail Strysko; Dionne and Nick Taylor; Jason Tucker; Dave Watters; Bob Wilson (after publication); Cindy Whitmore; Joyce Wright
    Silver Level
    Steve and Carol Ames; Audrey Blevins; Louise Cavallin; Ramona Court; Marlene Giles and Michelle Trujillo; Dick (Clinton) and Marlys Hamann; Beckie Henselmeier; Elizabeth Holcomb; Philip and Sharon Jeter; The Kirk-Clark Family; Martha McPhail; Brian and Pamela Murray; Thomas and Eleene Myers; Lois Nelson; Gloria Patten-Lane; Carole Porter; John and Jan Roese; Debra and Joseph Rosevear; Lembi Saarmann; Stefanie and Kyle Scroggins; Robin and Connie Smith; Patricia Twyman; Rev. Molly Vetter and Matthew Parker